CloverDX Units (or “DXUs”) are pre-purchased units that can be converted into Designer licenses, or cores in a Server license. DXUs can be re-allocated later to match your evolving needs.
Please note that only account administrators can manage (re)allocation of units.
Navigate to "Your plans" section on the Customer Portal home page to see a quick overview of the total number of units you have purchased, how many are allocated to licenses, and if potentially some are still available.
You can manage your units by clicking the Manage plan & unit allocation button. You will be redirected to a new page where you can:
- Review allocated vs remaining units.
- Add, remove and modify Designer, Server and Non-prod Server licenses as long as you have units available (you can free some up by removing licenses or reducing Server cores).
- Change owners assigned to individual licenses.
Manage plan & allocation
- Add licenses: Click Add Designer, Add Server or Add Server (non-production) buttons to add new licenses. These buttons won't be available if the number of remaining units drops to zero (the top bar is full).
- New licenses will not have license numbers. This is normal as new license numbers will be assigned by our support team when they process your request.
- Modify licenses: Modify a license by clicking the "pencil" icon. You can assign the license to a different user, or modify the number of cores on Server licenses. Each production core takes one unit (1 unit = 1 core). Cores are not applicable for Designer licenses (as 1 unit always equates 1 Designer seat). Non-production cores are not counted towards your unit limit by the form, yet are still defined by your plan, see details of each plan here.
- If you're modifying an existing license, an orange [Updated] tag will appear. You can revert changes using the Revert arrow button.
- Delete licenses: Click the "trash" icon to remove a license. Units spent by that license will be freed up. If you're deleting an already issued license, a [Removed] tag will appear. You can bring back such license with the Revert arrow button.
- Can't revert changes? Here's why: Please note that if you delete a license or reduce its number of cores, some units will be freed up. If you spend those units elsewhere, you might not be able to revert the initial changes, as there aren't enough units available at the moment. Free up units to make room for the revert operation to work again.
- Review and submit. By clicking the Review & Submit button you send your changes to our support team. They will notify you when the changes have been processed and your new licenses are ready.
- Get new licenses. Once your new licenses are ready, navigate to Product downloads or License keys to obtain your new licenses.
Submitting multiple requests
You can freely modify your unit allocation over time to fit your evolving needs. For example you might want to start with a larger number of Designer seats for initial development while reducing the number of cores of production Server instance. When you go to production, you will increase the cores of your production Server(s) in exchange for fewer Designer seats, thus you're only paying for what you are actually using.
Correcting a request / tracking progress
If you make a mistake and submit an incorrect request, no need to worry. You can submit a new request immediately after, as the later one will replace the first one.
Unit allocation requests are tracked as support tickets, so you can track their progress under Support / List support tickets.
After the request is completed, you will receive an email notification summing up the license changes. The email will include a link that you can follow to get to the list of your licenses and download the new or modified license keys.